UN list of Least Developed Countries 2014

This post is about giving you the name list of least developed countries in the world. Do you know how many countries are there in LDCs. There are 48 countries enlisted in the least developed countries (LDCs). Nepal is one of the least developed countries. There are some criteria that caused to enlist in the group. Do you know what criteria are.

Least Developed Countries (LDCs) is a group of countries which have GDP significantly lesser than average and characterized by rampant poverty and its related problems, environmental and developmental hazards, political instability and widespread conflicts. Such groups of countries are enlisted in these LDCs. The basic yardsticks employed by the United Nation (UN) to define LDCs are low income, weak human assets and economic vulnerability.

UN list of Least Developed Countries 2014

The Economic and Social Council of the United Nations in 2003 used the following three criteria for the identification of the LDCs:

3 major criteria to be in Least Developed Countries (LDCs)

  1. A low-income criterion, based on a 3 year average estimate of the gross national income (GNI) per capita (under $750 for inclusion, above $900 for graduation);
  2. A human resource weakness criterion, as measured through a composite Human Assets Index; and
  3. An economic vulnerability criterion, as measured through a composite Economic Vulnerability Index.

These figures and criteria are not fixed for forever and will remain as it is. The figures for these criteria are reviewed every 3 years by the Committee for Development Policy (CDP) of the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC). Countries may graduate out of the LDC classification when indicators exceed these criteria.

UN list of Least Developed CountryThe United Nations Office of the High Representative for the Least Developed Countries, Land locked Developing Countries and Small Island Developing States (UN OHRLLS) coordinates, supports and provides advocacy services for LDCs. For you kind information, since the LDC category commenced, only three countries have promoted to developing country status namely: Botswana in 1994, Cape Verde, in 2007 and Maldives on 1 Jan. 2011. In 2011 the UN suggested that Equatorial Guinea, Samoa, Tuvalu and Vanuatu are among the candidates for promotion from LDC status. According to UNCTAD report, currently there are 48 LDCS, 33 in Africa, 8 in Asia, 1 in Caribbean and 7 in Pacific region.


UN list of Least Developed Countries 2014 (LDCs):

S.N.Name List of Least Developed Countries (LDCs):in the World
 6Burkina Faso
 9Central African Republic
 12Democratic Republic of the Congo
 14Equatorial Guinea
 22Lao People’s Democratic Republic
35Sao Tome and Principe
37Sierra Leone
38Solomon Islands
45United Republic of Tanzania

Nepal is also one of the UN list of least developed countries 2014. A few years ago, Nepal was a backward country. There prevailed the autocratic partiless Panchayat system. But, after the restoration of democracy in 1990 A. D. endless opportunities of multiple fields or streams have opened. People actively do participate in the developmental activities. So, we do hope Nepal will definitely march ahead on the road of peace, progress and prosperity.


Although there are a number of factories and industries at Biratnagar, Birgunj, Bairahawa and Kathmandu. On the other hand, the road ways- the backbones of all round development are not substantial in our country Nepal. It is widely remarked, “When roads are open, destiny comes closer”. But unfortunately, many more districts are still inaccessible. It is a matter of immense misfortune.

We hope you got the information. Thanks visiting…