Reasons to Divide Nepal into Development Regions, Zones and Districts

Reasons to Divide Nepal into Development Regions, Zones and Districts

Here we have presented some reasons to divide Nepal into Development Regions, Zones and Districts. In Nepal, Districts were called “Bish” in Baidik era, but in Lichhabi era, districts are known as ‘Bisay’. Nepal is divided into 39 districts in the year. There were 4 development regions in the year 2029 B.S.

development region of nepal

Nepal is divided into 14 zones and 75 districts, grouped into 5 development regions. Each district is headed by a fixed chief district officer responsible for maintaining law and order and coordinating the work of field agencies of the various government ministries.

For administrative purpose Nepal is divided into fourteen zones and 75 districts. Please see map-Ill in this respect. The districts and zones have been regrouped into five development regions to promote development. In previous system, each district was further divided into several small units called village or town ‘Panchayat’. Now Village Panchayat is called Village Development Committee and Town Panchayat is called Municipality. In 2014, there were 4015 Village Development Committees and 130 municipalities. Each district is headed by a Chief District Officer (CDO), a government official. He is mainly responsible to maintain law and order in his district and also to co-ordinate the works of field departments of various ministries. Similarly, in each of the 75 districts of the country, an officer desig¬nated as Local Development Officer (LDO) is posted by the Ministry of Local Development to help, supervise and co-ordinate the develop¬ment plans and projects of the Village Development Committees and Municipalities.

  1. For the smooth and effective running of administration
  2. For executing the democratic principle of “decentralization of power”
  3.  For bringing out balanced and proportionate development in all parts of the country
  4. For the harmonious or parallel development of the country
  5. For the elimination of the regional disparity
  6. To carry out development works more rapidly at local level
  7. To make grand local participation in the development works
  8. To provide and create job employment opportunity for local people
  9. To decrease in rate of migration or Discouragement of migration for equal
  10. For the proper and. sustainable utilization of the locally available means and resources
  11. To foster the democratic principle of decentralization
  12. To bring out harmonious development of the country and its people
  13. To develop the feeling of national unity and sense of owners among the people in different parts of the country.
  14. Development cab be carryout out in local level
  15. Mobilization of human power at the local development
  16. For ensuring proportionate representation of all groups of people in the national policy and government
  17. For increasing people’s active participation for sustainable development
  18. Each region consisting of people from more or less the same economic, social and cultural background. i.e. Sherpa, Tamang and Tibet origin people in the north: Chhetry, Brahman, Gurung, Rai, Limbu, etc in the middle and Tharu, Rajbanshi, Satar, Dhimar, Yadav, Kushwaha, Mushar, Chamar etc. in the south.

Reasons to Divide Nepal into Development Regions, Zones and Districts

See Also

14 zones of Nepal

Introduction of Nepal


Months of Nepal

Days of Nepal

Famous and popular products of Nepal

Places to see in Nepal

Pokhara, a city of lake

Lumbini, a place to visit before die

Need of peace in Nepal : peace process of Nepal

    1. Anupama gurung
      • rohan dhungana
    2. susan khadka
    3. chandra acharya
      • Editor : Jitendra Sahayogee
    4. Prashant karn
    5. Sarisma
    6. Ayshkar

    Leave Comments