Religions in Nepal : Hindu, Buddhism, Muslim, Christianity …

Buddhism in Nepal: Buddhism Religion In Nepal


Buddhism was founded by Siddhartha Gautama, who is also known as Gautama Buddha. Gautama Buddha was born in Lumbini, Nepal in 563 BC. He was born to King Suddodhana and Queen Maya Devi At the age of 29, he left his family and worldly possession for searching of the solution to the pain and suffering in life. He struggled throughout, and at last while meditating under a ‘Bodhi’ (Peepal) tree in Gaya, he got enlighten that the’root of all sufferings  ‘desire and ignorance’. Then he became the Buddha, the enlightened one.

After being enlightened, he spent his rest of life teaching what he had learned. His teachings gradually spread over a large part of Asia. Today, it is practiced as one of the major religions in many countries all over the world. There is 9 % of the total population following this religion in Nepal.

Tripitaka and Jataka: These are the sacred books of Buddhism. Tripitaka is divided into three parts: Vinay Pitaka, Sutra Pitaka, and Abhidharma Pitaka. Vinay Pitaka, which is also called the liasket of discipline’, has rules for monks and nuns. Sutra Pitaka is the collections of the Lord Gautama Buddha’s teachings. And, Abhidharma Pitaka contains philosophical principles of Buddhism. Jatakas are the collections of stories of Gautama Buddha’s .birth and previous life.

Belief and practice of Buddhism in Nepal go back to the line of its founder, Prince Siddhartha Gautam who was born in Lumbini in the Southern Terai region in about 563 B.C. Up to the age of twenty-nine, the young prince led a very sheltered life in the royal palace of his father, completely unaware of the problems and suffering of everyday life outside.

One day, he convinced his charioteer to take him outside the palace and was shocked at the sight of an old man, a cripple, and a corpse. The realization of misery and unhappiness in the world persuaded him to abandon his luxurious life in the royal palace in order to quest for enlightenment and the truth of life. For many years, Gautam wandered from place to place looking for a solution to the problems he saw all around him. Finally, while meditating under Bodhi (Pipal) tree, he became spiritually enlightened in Gaya (in India). Henceforth known as Lord Buddha or the enlightened one,” he began to preach the “Four Noble Truths”.

According to this doctrine, the four noble truths are- The world is full of suffering, the root of suffering is desire; these sufferings and problems can be totally eliminated by withdrawal from and renunciation of craving, and the path that leads to the end of suffering is an Eightfold path. The Eight -fold paths are;-right views, right intent, right speech, right conduct, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness and right meditation.


Buddha journeyed from place to place, things and converting hundreds of flowers and died at the age of eighty in India. However, his many disciples continued spreading his teachings. At the time, Buddhism split into two main souls of thought: Hinayana and Mahayana. the followers of Hinayana do not worship souls of Buddha as the enlightened prince fight against idolatry. Very few other Nepalese Buddhists adopted Hinayana school of thought, one of the central beliefs of SahaYanists is that one can achieve Nirvana in beatific enfranchisement) by following the
a sample of Bodhisattvas.

Tripitaka and Dhammapada are sacred books. The sacred place of Buddhism is Bihar,  or ‘Stupa’. There are three pitaks’ within Buddha, Shukti pitak (hymns of Buddha) ‘Binaya pitak ‘ (rules and regulation) for monks. Abidharma Pitak philosophy of Buddhism and nuns). The clothes of Buddha are called ‘Chiwar’.

2. Bikamshila Mahabihar- India
3. Takshashila Mahabihar-Pakistan
4. Tamrashila Mahabihar-Shri Lanka
5. Swarnashila Mahabihar-Thailand
6. Tripitaka Mahabihar-Tibet

Four ‘Dhams( dwelling ) of Buddism

1. Lumbini – birthplace of Buddha
2. Bodhgaya -place of enlightenment
3. Sarnath- place of first hymn preaching
4. Kushinagar- death place of Buddha

  • Buddhism is one of the major religions in Nepal. according to population, second religion belongs to Buddhism.
  • Buddhism is a nontheistic religion that encompasses a variety of traditions, beliefs, and practices largely based on teachings attributed to the Lord Buddha.
  • Siddhartha Gautam, Commonly known as ‘Buddha’ meaning ‘the awakened one is the originator or founder of Buddhism, who was born in Lumbini.
  • The major scriptures of Buddhism are ‘Dharmapad’ and ‘Tripitaka’.
  • The worshipping place of Buddhist is Bihar, Math, and Stupa.
  • The Buddhism which does not believe in discrimination and untouchability and has faith on knowledge, virtuous action and not -violence is understood as the scientific and relative religion as per the time.
  • Among the international  Buddhist pilgrims,   Lumbini,   Takshyashila,   Swarnashila, Tamrashila, Brikramshila is important.
  • Lumbini lies in Nepal. Takshyashila lie in Pakistan,  Swarnashila lie in Thailand, Tamrashila lies in Srilanka and Bikramshila lie in India.

Hence, Buddhism is an epoch- relative scientific religion. It is spreading throughout the world. And, it is said that Buddha is the Light of Asia. According to recent population census, 9 percent people follow this religion in Nepal.

Jitendra Sahayogee

I am Jitendra Sahayogee, a writer of 12 Nepali literature books, film director of Maithili film & Nepali short movies, photographer, founder of the media house, designer of some websites and writer & editor of some blogs, has expert knowledge & experiences of Nepalese society, culture, tourist places, travels, business, literature, movies, festivals, celebrations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *