Kathmandu – Capital of Nepal


Kathmandu – Capital of Nepal

Kathmandu capital of Nepal is the most popular places to visit in Nepal. Kathmandu is the capital and largest city of Nepal. Have you visited Kathmandu Nepal? The word Kathmandu is derived from Kasthmandap or “temple made of wood” in Sanskrit, a pagoda-style temple. It is situated above 4400 ft. (1336 meter ) above sea level.  It has 218 square miles (360 square kilometers) of land with three historic, artistic and cultural towns namely Kathmandu, Patan and Bhaktapur together form known as ‘Kathmandu Valley’. Here us facts about Kathmandu Capital of Nepal. Here in formation about Kathmandu Capital of Nepal.

Capital of Nepal

Kathmandu valley is the hub of Nepal’s political, commercial and traditional culture and arts. Kathmandu valley is an exotic and fascinating showcase of a very rich culture, art and tradition. Kathmandu is the place for rest, relaxation and easy-day sightseeing of historic and artistic temples and monuments, and mountain views. Measuring 24 km east-west and 19 km north-south, the Kathmandu valley is encircled by a range of green temple terraced hills and dotted by compact clusters of red tiled-roofed houses. Kathmandu is situated in a bowl shaped valley in central Nepal. Kathmandu is also known as Kantipur. Kathmandu Capital of Nepal has seven UNESCO world heritage sites.

A remarkable legend speaks that the city of Kathmandu was built by king Gun Kamdev in 723 A.D. It is said that Kathmandu was a lake in the past. After the Bodhisattva Manjushri raised his sword of wisdom and sliced a passage through the mountain walls (Chovar), drains the water and creates the first settlements.

Not very long ago, it is said yet that there were just as many houses as there were temples and shrines in Kathmandu Capital of Nepal. But now that fact does not hold true because the urbanization and population is rapidly growing in the last three decades. Nevertheless, the Kathmandu valley still exhibits a living, breathing entity, a vital culture that has miraculously survived till now. The valley embraces most of Nepal’s ethnic groups, but Newars are the indigenous inhabitants and the creators of the Kathmandu valley’s splendid civilization of its three cities – Kathmandu, Patan and Bhaktapur. The skillfully built temples and palaces, delicately engraved stone and metal images, carved wooden columns and pillars, and the history laden shrines and chaityas of these three historical cities stand testimony to the Newars’s artistic achievements.

The valley consists of three fabulous cities of great historic and cultural interest. Inside the Kathmandu Valley, These legendry cities go by the names of:

Places to visit in Kathmandu, Capital of Nepal:





Tika Bhairav;

The Four Ganesh Temples;




Bungmati & Khokana;




Krishna Mandir,

Hiranya Varna Mahavihar,

 Kumbheshwar temple

Jagat Narayan temple

Bouddhanath temple

Bhaktapur include Durbar Square

The Golden Gate,

Palace of 55 windows,


Bell of the barking dogs,

Nyatapole Temple,

Bhairavanath Temple,

Dattatrya Temple,

Pujari Math etc;

Pashupati Temple

Nyatapola Temple

Batsala Temple

Siddha Pokhari

Balaju Water Garden:



Taleju temple

Kal Bhairav

Batsala Temple

Bhairav Nath Temple


Ashokan Stupas

Machhendranath Temple

The Tibetan Camp

Siddha Pokhari

 Kathmandu – Capital of Nepal

Kathmandu Capital of Nepal

Facts about Kathmandu Capital of Nepal

Information about Kathmandu Capital of Nepal

Kathmandu : Capital of Nepal

Kathmandu Nepal

Kathmandu Capital of What Country

Places to visit in Kathmandu, Capital of Nepal

Photos of Kathmandu Nepal


Jitendra Sahayogee

I am Jitendra Sahayogee, a writer of 12 Nepali literature books, film director of Maithili film & Nepali short movies, photographer, founder of the media house, designer of some websites and writer & editor of some blogs, has expert knowledge & experiences of Nepalese society, culture, tourist places, travels, business, literature, movies, festivals, celebrations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *