Kalratri -7th Form of Durga Mata :Worshiped on Fulpati Dashain

Don't forget to share this post. It's your love for us to improve our content.

Find here facts and information about seventh day of Dashain festival of Nepal and seventh form of Goddess Durga Mata. This post is about information and facts about Fulpati day of Dashain festival of Nepal and Goddess Durga’s seventh form.

As we know that Dashain is also known as Dussehra, Bada Dashain, Dasara, Navratri, Dasai, Durga Puja.


Seventh day of Dashain, Fulpati: Dedicated to Goddess Kalratri

The first nine days of Dashain is called Navratri. It means nine nights. As we all know that first day of Dashain is called Ghatasthapana. The seventh day of Dashain festival is Fulpati. Fulpati is termed as Phulpati, Foolpati, Fulpati, Fulpati.

The world knows that Dashain festival or Navratri is the festival, dedicated to Goddess Durga. And Goddess Durga is mother goddess. The seventh form of Goddess Durga is Kalratri. So, Goddess Kalratri is worshiped on the day of Fulpati, 7th day of Dashain. Goddess Kalratri is also addressed with the name ‘Kali Maa’. Kalratri appears to be one of the fiercest forms of mother goddess Durga Mata.

Goddess Kalratri, another form of mother goddess Durga, is known to provide always-auspicious results to her all the devotees, thus known as Shubhankari. Seventh Form of Goddess Durga or 7th Form of Goddess Durga is Goddess Kalratri.

In 2076, the seventh day of Dashain will be celebrated on 19th Ashoj, Wednesday. According to English calendar, the seventh day of Dashain in 2019 is in October 6.

The seventh day of Dasain is Fulpati . The meaning of Fulpati is sacred flowers and leaves. On this day, the kalash or sacred Durga vessel is ‘established’ in the room which is called Dasain Ghar of Hanuman Dhoka. Kalash is filled with a bouquet of tall flowers, banana stalks, holy leaves and sugar cane tied with red cloth.

Maa Kalratri Navratri Goddess Image
Maa Kalratri – Navratri Goddess

Appearance of Kalratri Goddess

While describing about looks of goddess Kalratri, she has a dark complexion, tousled hair and a valor posture. Kali Maa has three eyes that represent shine intense, bright and dreadful. Flames appear through her nostrils when she inhales or exhales air from her breath. Her necklace is shining like thunder.

This form of Goddess Durga, Kalratri is believed in all Hindus community to be the destroyer of all demons. According to mythology, 7th day of Dashain, Fulpati is one of the most important days for Tantriks to perform their rituals. Tantriks worship goddess Kalratri after the midnight of the Fulpati day with tantrik rituals.

Click here to know 8th day of Dashain : Maha Astami

Kalratri Mantra

While talking about Kalratri mantra, the following two lines are the mantra of Maa Kalratri, 7th form of Goddess Durga. The Goddess Kalratri in Dashain is worshipped with the chant of following Mantra:

या देवी सर्वभूतेषु माँ कालरात्रि रूपेण संस्थिता।
नमस्तस्यै नमस्तस्यै नमस्तस्यै नमो नम:।।

Ya Devi Sarbhavuteshu Man Kalratri Rupen Sansthit
Namastasyai Namastasyai Namastasyai Namo Namah

However the appearance of Maa Kali devi is so dreadful but her grace is generous toward her devotees.

ImNepal.com wishes you a very Happy Dashain Fulpati and also hopes that Mata Kalratri eliminates all the fear and sufferings from your life.

Kalratri -7th Form of Durga Mata :Worshiped on Fulpati Dashain

Don't forget to share this post. It's your love for us to improve our content.

Jitendra Sahayogee

I am Jitendra Sahayogee, a Writer of 12 Nepali Books, Director of Maithili films, Founder of Radio Stations, Designer of Websites and Editor of Some Nepali Blogs.

Leave a Reply

Close Menu