20 Interesting Facts About SAARC Countries

We all know that SAARC is South Asia Association for Regional Cooperation. Besides these, there are many Facts about SAARC which we should know but unable to be updated. At initial, there are 7 countries in SAARC. Later, Afghanistan is added in this Association. Now China is a such country which is a debate in SAARC countries to be added or not. China is as a SAARC member is now debate. Some of them are interesting facts about SAARC. Find here 20 facts about SAARC (South Asia Association for Regional Cooperation).


As we, all know that SAARC is short form of The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation. The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) was created when its Charter was formally adopted on 8 December 1985 by the Heads of States or Governments of Nepal, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Bhutan and Bangladesh in their first SAARC Summit in Dhaka on 7-8 December 1985. With the addition of Afghanistan as a member of the regional grouping on 3 April 2007, the total number of member states now stands at eight.

The secretariat located in Kathmandu acts as the headquarters. Nomination of the Secretary General rotates among the member countries in their alphabetical order. He is appointed under the recommendation of the concerned country for a term of 3 years.

The observers of SAARC are Australia, China, The European Union, Iran, Japan, Mauritius, Myanmar, South Korea and the United States.

The idea of regional cooperation in South Asia was mooted by the then President of Bangladesh Ziaur Rahman  in  198O.The  association was formed  with the view to enhancing the quality of life of the people and to find solution to the common problems of peoples of South Asia. The association provides a platform for the peoples of South Asia to work together in a spirit of friendship, trust and understanding.

Actually, the countries of South Asia have not only inherited a shared past but also have a common destiny. South Asian Countries have been tied together with intricate bonds of culture, religion, tradition and ethnicity.

The organizational structure of the SAARC includes: Meeting of the Head of States or Governments, Council of Ministers, Standing Committee, Technical Committee and Secretariat. The Heads of states or Governments have Summit Conference in a different country each year. The Summit endorses the decisions taken by its subordinate organs, The Council of Ministers constituted by the Foreign Ministers who meet twice a year to oversee and develop  ideas  and  policies.


The Standing Committee  of foreign SAARC has made several achievements such as introduction of policies and programs for attaining its objectives, launching of seven Integrated Program of Actions, set up of SAARC regional centers in the member countries, establishment of an Independent South Asian Commission on poverty alleviation, establishment of South Asian Development Fund and the SAARC Japan Special Fund. Moreover, a number of conventions and agreements have been the tangible achievements of SAARC. The countries are working towards creating a free trade zone in the region. South Asian Free Trade Area (SAFTA) came into force on January 1, 2006 that has been considered as a milestone for the promotion of intra -regional trade in the region. Programs such as SAARC Audio-Visual Exchange Program (SAVE), SAARC Scholarship, SAARC Youth Volunteers Program, SAARC Youth Award Program, South Asian Games (SAG) and South Asian Festivals have proved successful in contributing to strengthening relations among people. Through this regional organization, more consolidated voice of the region can be presented in the international forum.


SAARC as an organization has not been able to function to the fullest of its potential owing to poor relations of India and Pakistan. The major impediments in the path of achieving success are political difference between the member states, immense disparity in the development pattern within the region, exclusion of political and contentious bilateral issues from its ambit. It has not been strong enough to deal with the bilateral and multilateral problems of the region. So, the need of reformation has been strongly felt to make SAARC more effective and dynamic. It is necessary to reorient the SAARC both structurally and operationally, enhancing its effectiveness as a dynamic vehicle of regional cooperation.

Secretaries do the detailed planning and implementation. Technical Committee, at the bottom of the hierarchy, control the 11 areas of the IPA’s such as agriculture and rural development, communication and transport, social development, science and technology and energy.

Facts about SAARC countries

8 SAARC countries

20 Interesting Facts About SAARC Countries

    1. The full form of SAARC is South Asian Association for Regional Co-operation.

    2. The idea or concept of a SAARC (South Asia Association for Regional Cooperation) was mooted at first in 1980.
    3. Ziaur Rahman, president of Bangladesh ((January 19, 1936 – May 30, 1981) pres+ents at first about the concept of a SAARC (South Asia Association for Regional Cooperation).

    4.  President Ziaur Rahmanpresents the idea of South Asia Association for Regional Cooperation in 2nd May 1980.

    5. Member states of SAARC  are  Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
    6. South Asia Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) was established in 8th December 1985.

    7. There are four Sections in the charters in the Charter of SAARC.

    8. There is a provision of SAARC summit should be held at least once in a year or more often as and when considered necessary to discuss and make.

    9. There is a provision about the Council of Ministers of SAARC that Ministers of Foreign /External Affairs of the Member States will be in Council of Ministers of SAARC.
    10. The main duty of the Council of Ministers of SAARC must be formulation of policies, review of progress, establishment of additional mechanism, decision on new areas of cooperation and other matters of general interest to Association.

      Interesting Facts About SAARC Countries

    1. Deshaj

    Leave Comments