Popular Places to Visit in Nepal- 10 World Heritage Sites

Popular Places to Visit in Nepal-  10 World Heritage Sites

Popular places to visit in Nepal  are 10 World Heritage Sites. Nepal is a small mountain landlocked kingdom is the world. Even it has the area of 147,181 sq. km., Nepal holds 10 places as UNESCO (United Nations Educational Scientific Cultural Organization) as ‘World Heritage Sites’.

There are 830 properties of world in World Heritage list as cultural and natural heritage having outstanding universal value. And among them there are 644 cultural heritage sites, 162 natural heritage sites and 24 mixed properties. Out of these 10 sites are from Nepal. These all 10 heritages sites are known as popular places to visit in Nepal.

UNESCO has listed the most important natural and cultural heritages of the world on the basis of their significance. While making a list of world heritage, the heritages are selected and examined on the criteria of their historical, natural and cultural significance, their artistic value, their rare quality and their unique characteristic which identify the nation.

Nepal is sandwiched between two great country of the world. In ancient time, this was no mans’ land and it was covered by hills, snow, lakes, rivers and sloppy lands with dense forest. These Himalayan and Mountain -ranges were formed by the effect of continental drift.

The northern river in between Nepal and Tibet was collapsed and its bottom was raised in paramount position for present Himalaya. The geological activities faced these high mountain to be translated into Himalayans or snowy belt from east to west. Some rivers of Nepal have long travel from Tibet to India. These are very popular and holy rivers. The people were called Gurkhas before 1952 recognized as great warriors and honest in the world.

10 site or places of Nepal have got the recognition of the World Heritage Site in Nepal. The cultural heritage Kathmandu Durbar Squares, Patan Durbar Squares, Bhaktapur Durbar Squares, the Swayambhu Nath, Bauddhanath Nath, Pashupati Nath and Changu Narayan are consisting within the Kathmandu Valley.

Natural World Heritage Sites in Nepal:

Two national parks of Nepal included in the World Heritage Sites List as Natural Site.

  1. The Sagarmatha National park
  2. The Chitwan National Park
Cultural World Heritage Sites in Nepal:

The Nepalese culture is based mostly on the religious beliefs. The religious and cultural heritage has its own significance. There are unlimited numbers of cultural heritages in Nepal that are based on religion. Such heritages are important not only form the Nepalese point of view; it is important because, it is a part of world community.

These heritages are included in the list of world cultural heritage, and are being conserved too.  These cultural world heritage sites of Nepal are also popular places to visit in Nepal. The name list of natural world heritage of Nepal are as follows:

  1. The Kathmandu Durbar Square
  2. The Bhaktapur Durbar Square
  3. The Changu Narayan Temple
  4. The Lalitpur Durbar Square
  5. The Pashupatinath Temple
  6. The Boudhanath Stupa
  7. The Lord Swayambhu Nath
  8. The Lumbini Site
Popular Places to visit in Nepal > No. 1: Kathmandu Durbar Square: World Heritage Site in Nepal
kathmandu durbar square

Kathmandu durbar square: Image credit

Kathmandu Durbar Square is one of the popular places to visit in Nepal. Kathmandu Durbar Square is a beautiful heritage site full of cultural and ancient crafts, drawing and handicrafts, etc. There is a Marushattal made of only one single tree. This is known as the Kasthamandap. Kathmandu has got its name after that Kahthmandap. The pleasant arts of Hanuman Dhoka, the temple of Taleju Bhawani, Panchmukhi Hanuman temple, the temple of Kumari (Living Goddess), the Shiva-Parbati Temple, Sri Ganeshsthan, Gaddi Baithak (Place for coronation) etc., have decorated the Kathmandu Durbar square.  Read more about Kathmandu Durbar Square.

Popular Places to visit in Nepal > No. 2: Bhaktapur Durbar square: World Heritage Site in Nepal

kathmanduBhaktapur Durbar square is one of the popular places to visit in Nepal. The Bhaktapur Durbar Square is an example of cultural and ancient crafts, drawings and handicrafts. The fifty -five windows durbar and Sundhokha (Golden gate) built during the regime of Malla king and the statue of Bhupteendra Malla and the five stories temple (Panch Talle Mandir) built by the king Bhupteendra Malla is found in this city. Besides these, the Dattatrey Temple, Sunchara Pokhari, and amazing ponds etc., are the artistic works which have not only made the city incomparable but also worth seeing. The Golden gate is the main entrance to the courtyard of the place with 55 windows. It was built by King Pratap Malla and is one of the most beautifully and richly carved specimen of its kind in the entire world. Read more

Popular Places to visit in Nepal > No. 3: Lalitpur Durbar Square: World Heritage Site in Nepal

patan durbar square nepal, popular places to visit in nepalLalitpur Durbar Square is one of the popular places to visit in Nepal. Lalitpur Durbar Square is remarkable for cultural and ancient crafts, drawings and handicrafts in Nepal. The stupas, Rato Machchhindra Nath and other various temples build from the period of Ashoka to the period of Malla dysnasty are still adding the aesthetical beauty to this city. The twenty one spires (Gajurs) of Krishna Mandir are completely made of stone. Besides it, the windows of elephant bones (hides), the statue of Yog Narendra Malla, Taleju temple, stone tape and ponds, etc. are the artistic works of Lalitpur Durbar Square. Read more

Pages: 1 2

Jitendra Sahayogee

I am Jitendra Sahayogee, a Writer of 12 Nepali Books, Director of Maithili films, Founder of Radio Stations, Designer of Websites and Editor of Some Nepali Blogs.

Webpage designing hosting in nepal

You may also like...

6 Responses

  1. Kiran Adhikari says:

    Wow what a great place in Nepal.

  2. Jagdish Man Rajbhandari says:

    Apart from these we have so many attractive places which are still unpopular/unfamiliar. So govt of Nepal should take steps to make popular.

  3. yurisha giri says:

    vry useful information and grt place for vixit also…….. 🙂 😀

  4. apex prajapati3 says:

    it help in doing my hom work

  5. ayush subedi says:

    it helped a lot to do my project

  6. Birenra Adhikari says:

    Awesome Place …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *